DEI Committee

Our mission is to create and maintain an environment that encourages and supports meaningful diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) within Neurosurgical scientific publications. The goal is to foster meaningful reviews of submitted manuscripts where these matters are raised. Ultimately, this initiative aims to eliminate possible bias and elevate the standard of the review process encompassing a diverse group of neurosurgical patients.

William AshleyWilliam W. Ashley, Jr., MD, PhD, MBA, FAANS (Lead)

Director, Cerebrovascular, Endovascular and Skull Base Neurosurgery
Chief, Neurointerventional Radiology
Sinai Hospital of Baltimore and LifeBridge Health System
Clinical Professor
Department of Neurosurgery
George Washington University

Sonia EdenSonia Eden, MD, FAANS

Department of Neurosurgery, Semmes Murphey Clinic
Associate Professor, University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center

Aruna GanjuAruna Ganju, MD FAANS FACS

Associate Professor
Department of Neurological Surgery
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Editor, AANS Neurosurgeon
Founder, Project Synapse

Brenton PennicookeBrenton Pennicooke, MD, MS, FAANS

Assistant Professor of Neurological Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery, and Biomedical Engineering
Department of Neurological Surgery
Washington University in Saint Louis

P.B. Raksin MD, FAANS

Senior Attending Neurosurgeon and Director, Neurosurgery ICU
Division of Neurosurgery
Cook County Hospital
Associate Professor, Rush University Medical Center

Caple A. SpenceCaple A. Spence, MD MBA FAANS FACS

Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Neurosurgery
OU Health University of Oklahoma Medical Center

Hai SunHai Sun, MD, PhD

Vice Chair of Clinical Affair
Chief of Service
Associate Professor
Director of Epilepsy Surgery
Assistant Director of Research
Associate Director of Residency Program
Department of Neurosurgery
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Rutgers University