Editorial Board: Neurosurgical Focus


William T. Couldwell, Editor-in-Chief, Neurosurgical Focus

Dr. William T. Couldwell is current Editor-in-Chief of Neurosurgical Focus, our monthly online publication. He serves as professor and chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Utah. He has served as the Director of the American Board of Neurological Surgery and president as well as secretary of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. Dr. Couldwell is recognized internationally for his expertise in skull base and vascular neurosurgery.






Aaron Cohen-Gadol, Associate Editor, Neurosurgical Focus

Dr. Aaron Cohen-Gadol performed his undergraduate and medical school trainings at the University of California, San Diego, and University of Southern California, respectively. He then completed his residency training at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. He also completed fellowship training in two subspecialties: epilepsy surgery (Yale University) and skull base/cerebrovascular surgery (University of Arkansas.) Dr. Cohen has a MS in clinical research. His areas of interest include surgical treatment of complex intracranial tumors and vascular lesions. He is a professor at Indiana University’s Department of Neurosurgery and Goodman Campbell Brain and Spine. He is the director of neurosurgical oncology and its fellowship, and co-director of the Signature Center Initiative to Cure Glioblastoma. He is the founder and president of The Neurosurgical Atlas, a multimedia resource for neurosurgical techniques.His clinical research interests include neurosurgical operative anatomy, innovative operative approaches to deep-seated lesions, and intraoperative fluorescence/mass spectroscopy. His basic science research is focused on novel drug therapies for glioblastoma. He has over 380 publications on the aforementioned topics. Dr. Cohen-Gadol is currently Associate Editor for Neurosurgical Focus.



Jason P. Sheehan, Associate Editor, Neurosurgical Focus

Dr. Jason P. Sheehan graduated with highest distinction in chemical engineering at the University of Virginia. Later, he completed a master's of science in biomedical engineering and a doctorate in biological physics at the University of Virginia, where he also received his medical degree. He completed his neurosurgical residency at the University of Virginia and did fellowships in stereotactic and functional neurosurgery at the University of Pittsburgh and microsurgery at the Auckland Medical Center in New Zealand.After his neurosurgical training, he joined the faculty of the University of Virginia’s Department of Neurological Surgery; he currently serves as the Harrison Distinguished Professor of Neurological Surgery. He also is the vice chairman of academic affairs, neurosciences service line director, and director of stereotactic radiosurgery. He served as editor of the Self Assessment in Neurological Surgery (SANS). He also helps to direct the AANS and ASTRO national SRS registry. Dr. Sheehan's research effort focuses on translational and clinical studies for minimally invasive image-guided intracranial and spinal surgery. He has published more than 400 papers and served as the editor for several books. He has received the National Brain Tumor Foundation’s Translational Research Award, Young Neurosurgeon Award from the World Federation of Neurological Surgeons, the Integra Award, the Synthes Skull Base Award, Brainlab Neuro-Oncology Award, the Covey Pevehouse Award, and the Crutchfield Gage Research Award.Dr. Sheehan is a member of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons, Congress of Neurological Surgeons, Society for Neuro-Oncology, Society of Neurological Surgeons, Neurosurgical Society of America, Society of Pituitary Surgeons, American Society of Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology, International Stereotactic Radiosurgery Society, Leksell Gamma Knife Society, and Neurosurgical Society of the Virginias. He was elected to the Journal of Neurosurgery Editorial Board in 2013. Dr. Sheehan is Associate Editor of Neurosurgical Focus.


Martin H. Weiss, Editor Emeritus, Neurosurgical Focus

Dr. Weiss received his MD from Cornell University. A member of Phi Beta Kappa and Alpha Omega Alpha, he is presently Professor and Martin H. Weiss Chair of Neurological Surgery at the University of Southern California. Dr. Weiss' research interests have focused on studies of the dynamics of cerebrospinal fluid circulation, subcellular markers of neoplastic activity, and the clinical management of pituitary and parasellar tumors. He is a past Chairman of the Neurology B Study Section of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, the American Board of Neurological Surgery, the Residency Review Committee for Neurosurgery and Editor-in-Chief of Clinical Neurosurgery. Dr. Weiss has served as President of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) and the Society of Neurological Surgeons as well as Vice President of the American Academy of Neurological Surgery and the Congress of Neurological Surgeons. He is the recipient of the Cushing Medal from the AANS, the Jamieson Medal from the Neurosurgical Society of Australasia and the Cloward Medal from the Western Neurosurgical Society. Dr. Weiss served as a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Neurosurgery from 1987 to 1996 (Chairman 1995–1996) and is the Editor Emeritus of Neurosurgical Focus.